Testimonials & Reviews

4.96/5

Austin Shoulder Institute

Orthopedic Surgeons & Shoulder Specialists located in North Austin, Austin, TX & Austin, Cedar Park, TX

25 total reviews

Austin Shoulder Institute always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 25 reviews with an average rating of 4.96 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Austin Shoulder Institute below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Ronald R.
Submitted 08/23/18
Dr. Szerlip performed my right shoulder replacement last November. It has been so nice being able to go about everyday tasks without pain in my shoulder region. Dr. Szerlip was truly professional and guided me each step of my way in my recovery.
Margie N S.
Submitted 07/05/18
Since 11/2017 when I found Dr. Graham on the website, I've been totally satisfied with his services. I had a shoulder injury and unsure how. I saw another orthopedic specialist but I was doubtful in his treatment and post care. He had informed me that after shoulder surgery I could not shower for two weeks. What really made me doubtful with him is when I asked him if I would be able to use my left shoulder, hand and arm again, he immediately said, "I hope so." So this is when I immediately knew I had to find someone else. I searched the internet and found Dr. Robert Graham and Dr. Szerlip. It was a hard decision but I just clicked on Dr. Graham's picture. I am so THANKFUL and BLESSED that I chose him. When I initially visited him, he gave me a diagnosis of my MRI, what was needed and how it would be done by arthroscopic. The last doctor wanted an open surgery and didn't offer any other kind of surgery techniques. Dr. Graham performed my surgery Jan 2018 and everything went fine. I was sent home the same day with pain meds in a small surgical bag for two days. I only had to use 1 pain pill and not any after. I've been in PT since Feb and she said my healing is beyond where I am supposed to be. I rarely have any or no pain. Dr. Graham's bed side manner was exceptional. He always had a great attitude with a smile on his face. When I found him and right before and after surgery many people told me he's the best shoulder specialist throughout the state. I am so fortunate and blessed to find an exceptional bright and educated doctor. His physician’s assistant, Stephen, is again, smart, bright and knowledgeable. The remaining staff at ASI (north mopac) is cordial, kind and exceptional organized. Before and after surgery they give me a complete packet on what to do, what to expect prior and after surgery. Also, post appointments were made prior to surgery. I am greatly impressed with the professionalism that they display at this office. Also, Jonathan H. have answered many of my calls pertaining to meds, dr work statements, PT and other issues. All were completed in a timely and professional manner. Yes, I am truly blessed to find Dr. Graham and his staff. I am most thankful for my God and Jesus Christ to allow me to find Dr. Graham and his staff. Thanks for a job well done. I am progressing well.
Rhonda P.
Submitted 06/02/18
From my very first visit . To surgery 1 year ago today, I was so pleased with everything. Dr Szerlip has the best bed side manner and his staff are all wonderful. From the worset pain you can imagine to feeling so grateful. Thank you again for my new right shoulder and a new outlook on life.
Michael R.
Submitted 02/06/18
Dr. Szerlip did a repair of my complete distal biceps tendon tear. I am delighted at how well the surgery and recovery have gone. I had surgery on a Tuesday and by Sunday I did not need any pain medication. The nerve block and early pain medication resulted in very minimal pain in the first few days after surgery. The nerve block to my arm allowed them to use much less general anesthesia which at age 70 was important and made recovery after surgery much easier. I was very pleased with the information I was given throughout the process. Dr. Szerlip and his staff showed that they really care. I felt they gave me the information needed to make informed decisions about the surgery and other follow-up procedures. My goal in getting the surgery is to be able to continue to play league softball as a pitcher. I am still in Rehab but all indications are great. Thanks to Dr Szerlip, his staff, and his recommended Therapists for a job well done! You have exceeded all my expectations!
Jeannette W.
Submitted 11/24/17
Willing to listen to patient and make recommendations that are alternatives to surgery, making surgery a last resort. Is very personable with that flat midwestern sense of humor.
Celia T.
Submitted 11/20/17
Terrific, friendly staff. Dr Szerlip is personable and makes you feel comfortable right away, not only in his knowledge but in his abilities as a surgeon. I’m a fan. I live in the Rio Grande Valley but I will always make the drive to Austin to see him!
Betty F.
Submitted 11/03/17
I was seen in a timely manner and Dr. Szerlip showed us exactly what I broke and how they fixed my shoulder and the staff took good care of changing the bandage and getting new X-rays all in all it was a very informative visit and very helpful.
Ellen E.
Submitted 11/01/17
Dr. Szerlip was recommended to me by my orthopedic surgeon in Houston who operated on my shoulder a few years ago. Dr. Szerlip studied under my surgeon. Dr. Szerlip was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and I thought he knew exactly what he was talking about. He suggested some physical therapy and that helped a lot. I now have peace of mind and I didn't have to drive to Houston! Thanks Dr. Szerlip!!!
Neal C.
Submitted 10/29/17
The best shoulder specialist in Austin! Was referred to Dr. Graham and the "Austin Shoulder Institute" after a bad fall resulted in my experiencing a proximal fracture of the humerus bone/shoulder. Dr. Graham has an impressive resume, a pleasant personality, and he is genuine and very caring. His staff are very friendly, too, and they have been nothing short of wonderful while I have been recovering from my accident/injury. They say if you need an attorney to get the best. Well, if you need a shoulder specialist, make an appointment with Dr. Robert Graham!
Vickie B.
Submitted 09/02/16
I have been treated by both Dr. Szerlip and Dr. Grahmn who are both excellent doctors. However, my review concerns the office staff. They are incredible! From booking appointments to insurance problems, front desk, X-rays and nurses. I have never received such competent and prompt service!!!
Carlos B.
Submitted 05/09/16
Thank you Dr. Szerlip for making my experience comfortable and without stress. I was quite nervous before my visit and was surprised at how quickly you were able to diagnose and treat my shoulder. I highly recommend anyone who is in need of any shoulder work to make Dr. Szerlip their first choice. Thank you Dr.
Dawn B.
Submitted 05/09/16
As seniors, we plan for retirement, travel and "the good times", but we don't necessarily plan for unexpected medical resources when we need it. I found myself needing a full replacement of my shoulder and had no idea who should do it. Fortunately, I was referred to Dr Ben Szerlip to do the job. From the first meeting, he was thorough with explaining the situation, providing solutions and I never felt pressured to make an on the spot decision. He sent me home with literature, answered all of my questions and let me decide what was best for me. Once I decided to do the surgery, he continued to be there for me -- providing the confidence and skill level to put my mind at ease. The surgery went way better than expected and, while I wished it didn't have to happen, the out come was much better than expected. All of the hospital providers, medical staff and support folks had nothing but good things to say about him. His bed side manner encourages you to have a positive outcome and his skill level at getting the job done right (without any complications) is high. He's good at what he does and you can tell he really loves what he's doing....without bragging....he is humble and will downplay his abilities by saying it's a team effort. No one wants surgery and when you need it and don't know who to use, it can be frustrating. Before my surgery, I didn't know him from Adam, but now I do and am very thankful to have made the decision to go with him for my surgery.
Bruce G.
Submitted 05/09/16
Oft times when one might opt to write a review, the obligatory checklist comes into play. Writing one for a Surgeon, does not change that dynamic. In Dr. Szerlip's case, the checklist might go as follows: 1-Was he highly recommended? Check. 2-Was he accessible to address one's concerns? Check 3-When he spoke with you did he look into your eyes and actually listen? Check 4-Did he explain all that was entailed with the procedure to be performed? Check 5-Was he crystal clear and explicit in his prognosis and follow up aftercare instructions? Check That's all well and good and I was extremely pleased. No, make that beyond pleased with the entire process from consult to discharge. But here's the thing; the most important thing, at least to this patient: To many of us it's the little things that end up counting the most. Little things that tell us, this is something special, this is for the personal journal. That this (the little things) is not all that common. What were those "little things" that separate the extremely talented surgeon (which he is) from the robotic one (which he most certainly isn't)? It's twofold: 1-Aside from being delighted with how I fared post-op, he seemed to be most excited with the fact that he was able to avoid cutting into my tattoo. I never once mentioned the tat to him and any concern I might have had with it, yet it was important to him that he did everything he could to preserve the integrity of it. Not that it would have mattered as I am still looking for the minimal size cuts he made to perform the procedure..So, what does that tell you? 2-How comforting is it when the Doctor takes the time out of his (or her) busy schedule to personally "look in on you" with a phone call to see that all is well? The answer is simple: Most of us would not know or experience such a comfort, given that the phone calls usually are placed by the staff and/or the surgicenter..So what does that tell you? So, if we combine the "usual" with the "unusual" what do we have? A caring, uber talented professional who genuinely cares about what he does and with whom he does it on. One of a kind Doctor? I think so, or else I wouldn't have taken the time to write this glowing review..Thank you Dr. Szerlip for taking care of my problem and for caring far beyond the "call of duty."
David H.
Submitted 04/25/16
He is reassuring and he made me feel like it wasn't the end of the world. He is self confident, which made me feel better about choosing him as my doctor.
Mary W.
Submitted 04/20/16
I met him on a Friday, and we did the surgery the next week. The appointment process was very fast. I was very happy with the results of the surgery as well. Dr. Szerlip was very nice, He couldn't have been any nicer. I didn't have any pain after surgery, but just a little discomfort. I'd had pain for 5 years and didn't even know it was possible to fix it. I would highly recommend Dr. Szerlip to anyone who has shoulder problems.
Dawn B.
Submitted 04/11/16
As seniors, we plan for retirement, travel and "the good times", but we don't necessarily plan for unexpected medical resources when we need it. I found myself needing a full replacement of my shoulder and had no idea who should do it. Fortunately, I was referred to Dr Ben Szerlip to do the job. From the first meeting, he was thorough with explaining the situation, providing solutions and I never felt pressured to make an on the spot decision. He sent me home with literature, answered all of my questions and let me decide what was best for me. Once I decided to do the surgery, he continued to be there for me -- providing the confidence and skill level to put my mind at ease. The surgery went way better than expected and, while I wished it didn't have to happen, the out come was much better than expected. All of the hospital providers, medical staff and support folks had nothing but good things to say about him. His bed side manner encourages you to have a positive outcome and his skill level at getting the job done right (without any complications) is high. He's good at what he does and you can tell he really loves what he's doing....without bragging....he is humble and will downplay his abilities by saying it's a team effort. No one wants surgery and when you need it and don't know who to use, it can be frustrating. Before my surgery, I didn't know him from Adam, but now I do and am very thankful to have made the decision to go with him for my surgery.
Bruce G.
Submitted 04/11/16
Oft times when one might opt to write a review, the obligatory checklist comes into play. Writing one for a Surgeon, does not change that dynamic. In Dr. Szerlip's case, the checklist might go as follows: 1-Was he highly recommended? Check. 2-Was he accessible to address one's concerns? Check 3-When he spoke with you did he look into your eyes and actually listen? Check 4-Did he explain all that was entailed with the procedure to be performed? Check 5-Was he crystal clear and explicit in his prognosis and follow up aftercare instructions? Check That's all well and good and I was extremely pleased. No, make that beyond pleased with the entire process from consult to discharge. But here's the thing; the most important thing, at least to this patient: To many of us it's the little things that end up counting the most. Little things that tell us, this is something special, this is for the personal journal. That this (the little things) is not all that common. What were those "little things" that separate the extremely talented surgeon (which he is) from the robotic one (which he most certainly isn't)? It's twofold: 1-Aside from being delighted with how I fared post-op, he seemed to be most excited with the fact that he was able to avoid cutting into my tattoo. I never once mentioned the tat to him and any concern I might have had with it, yet it was important to him that he did everything he could to preserve the integrity of it. Not that it would have mattered as I am still looking for the minimal size cuts he made to perform the procedure..So, what does that tell you? 2-How comforting is it when the Doctor takes the time out of his (or her) busy schedule to personally "look in on you" with a phone call to see that all is well? The answer is simple: Most of us would not know or experience such a comfort, given that the phone calls usually are placed by the staff and/or the surgicenter..So what does that tell you? So, if we combine the "usual" with the "unusual" what do we have? A caring, uber talented professional who genuinely cares about what he does and with whom he does it on. One of a kind Doctor? I think so, or else I wouldn't have taken the time to write this glowing review..Thank you Dr. Szerlip for taking care of my problem and for caring far beyond the "call of duty."
Melody D.
Submitted 03/25/16
Outstanding service. Very caring. Thanks Dr. Graham!
Micah H.
Submitted 03/18/16
Dr. Szerlip was wonderful. He answered all questions and demonstrated exercises needed for recovery. He worked with Micah until he was comfortable with how to handle his shoulder break and what to expect in recovery.
Herb B.
Submitted 02/19/16
I was extremely happy with Dr. Graham’s work. My arm and shoulder are completely healed. In fact, my tennis serve is stronger now than before the procedure. I have recommended Dr. Graham to all my friends at the Tennis Club. I really appreciated Dr. Graham’s enthusiastic attitude toward performing my non-invasive, scope procedure. Dr. Graham told me how much he enjoyed doing rotator cuff procedures and working on the shoulder anatomy.
Our Locations

Choose your preferred location